WW84 leaps onto to HBOMax but doesn’t stick the landing

ww84_warner bros_gal gadot_mall

WW84 leaps onto to HBOMax but doesn’t stick the landing

Wonder Woman 1984 is a fun romp through the 80’s family movie for the holidays. As long as you don’t take it too seriously. The sophomore film in the franchise will thrive mostly on fans who’ve patiently waited in anticipation for DC Comics’ most famous heroine to return and with families who are looking for a place to park their kids on the couch for two-and-a-half hours. Although the movie attempts to leave us with a warm feeling of hope for the future (something we desperately need from entertainment right now), several missteps don’t quite stick the landing.

ww84, gal gadot theblerdgurl, karama horne, review
Gal Gadot (Diana Prince – a.k.a. “Wonder Woman”)
Photo credit: Warner Bros.

Spoilers ahead for Wonder Woman 1984

Directed by Patty Jenkins and written by Jenkins, with Geoff Johns & David Callaham for Warner Brothers, the first 15 minutes of WW84 begin in Diana’s past. We see her as a child (played once again by the incredible Lilly Aspell) in a fantastic action sequence as she competes in an Olympic style competition on Themyscira against adult Amazons 3 times her size. When she loses due to cheating, she learns a valuable lesson, from Antiope (Robin Wright) ”No true hero is born from lies.”

The extended opening sets the stage for an incredible journey, but when we jump forward into the 1980s, the movie turns from triumphant to tropey. Complete with stock characters, incomplete plot points, and stereotypes dressed as diversity.  

Taking place more than 70 years after the first movie, Diana Prince (Gal Gadot) has settled into the life of a lonely yet successful career woman of the 1980’s. Beautiful and well-liked, she places distance between her emotions and others because they will eventually die on her like the love of her life, Steve Trevor, did. As an antiquities historian at the Smithsonian, her job is well suited for an immortal moonlighting as a superhero. (with some incredible perks).

Chris Pine (Steve Trevor) and Gal Gadot (Diana Prince) star in WW84
Photo Credit: Warner Bros.

In this story, one of two villains is Max Lord (Pedro Pascal), a Ponzi scheming showman desperate for power and significance, who would lie to you about the time of day if it made him look better. The other villain is Barbara Minerva (a.k.a. – Cheetah), the mousy, socially-awkward gemologist and chrysologist who works with Diana who longs for real human connection. 

What ties everyone together is the Dreamstone. Part genie lamp, part philosopher’s stone, the relic is imbued with the powers of the Gods and grants the wishes of anyone who states their intentions while touching it. However, like most magical talismans, there must be an equivalent exchange. In this case, the user’s life force is depleted.. The stone grants three wishes at first, Minerva accidentally receives a version of Diana’s powers, Diana inadvertently brings back Steve Trevor’s soul, and Max finds a way to draw power directly from the stone itself, sending him on his quest to take over the world. Max and Minerva ultimately team up against Diana and Steve over their shared anxiety of losing popularity, power and peroxide. Fear of being ordinary is the real enemy for these villains. (Edited 12/26)

One of the joys of this film is watching Pedro Pascal chewing the scenery as Lord. Although Max isn’t a very deep character and the writers wavered from canon, (and the nod to our current President’s antics are hard to miss), Pascal took what he had on the page and made it his own. Campy? Yes, but in a way that kids can enjoy.

I would give the same praise to Kristin Wiig if they gave her more of a storyline. Unfortunately, we spent so much time on Steve and Diana’s “sort of” relationship, and the retelling of Diana’s origins and Lord’s emotional state, that there didn’t seem to be enough time to give Minerva the development the character deserved. Instead, it feels like she makes the leap from angsty and fragile to angry feminist in the blink of an eye.

Chris Pine does an admirable job reprising his role as Trevor, Diana’s paramour without a purpose. In a role reversal of the first film, Diana must lead an out-of-sorts Trevor through a world he no longer recognizes. But because he exists simply due to Diana’s wish, somehow, his presence feels contrived. Even though Pine is responsible for most of the film’s comedic moments, there’s not enough there to give his character purpose.

At this point in the DCEU, Gal Gadot embodies Diana with all of the confidence that you would expect from an actress in a sophomore film in a billion-dollar franchise. (If you count Justice League, and Batman v Superman it’s her fourth round in the tiara). However, her character development feels caught between warrior goddess and “I’m a lover, not a fighter.” (Which, to be honest, is one of my critiques of the character in the comics as well). (Edit 12/26)

Pedro Pascal (Maxwell Lord)
Photo Credit: Warner Bros.

The action scenes, although few, were also a fun ride. If watching Diana wield her familiar arsenal: Lasso of Truth, bulletproof gauntlets, and boomerang tiara makes fans happy, her invisible jet and new power set will make them ecstatic. Cheetah, in her final form, moved incredibly well. And in a conversation with Patty Jenkins, she shared with me that she chose to capture most of Cheetah and Diana’s final fight practically with real Cirque du Soleil perfomers.  

The final battle’s payoff was stunted only by the use of a dark, murky color correction. A choice that might not have been so apparent in a theater screening but ultimately made the scene hard to see. The other disconcerting portion of that sequence was the jarring use of makeup on Wiig, which gave her visage a slightly unfinished look reminiscent of CATS. 

The part of Wonder Woman 1984 that really didn’t work for me was the film’s lazy use of diversity as a backdrop. The movie is clearly very ethnically diverse, and I was happy to see Insecure’s Natasha Rothwell make a brief appearance as Minerva’s boss. But most of the characters of color felt like a forced afterthought, so similar to the way POC actors were treated in ‘80s TV shows that I wondered if it was intentional. Some missteps, like the all-white breakdance crew on a corner (we literally invented breakdancing in the ‘80s) or Max’s dreadlocked assistant (we weren’t allowed to wear locs in business settings back then), don’t affect the plot but pulled me out of the story momentarily. 

Others like Leon, the Black homeless man whom Minerva gives her leftovers to regularly on the way home, or Babajide, the Indian man with a horrible Walking Dead wig, who magically seems to know everything about the Dreamstone, are moments that genuinely made me facepalm. 

ww84, theblerdgurl, minerva, cheetah, warner bros
Kristin Wiig (Barbara Minerva – a.k.a. -“Cheetah”)
Photo Credit: Warner Bros

A particular cringeworthy moment came when Max travels to Egypt to meet with his rival and grants him a wish, which basically amounts to ethnic cleansing and erecting a “Divine Wall” to separate his nation from the rest of Africa. I’m assuming the point was to show just how “evil” and racist people can be. as it is the catalyst for a series of horrific events that follow. But why Africa? And why Muslims? In my opinion, this is not the right message for a big budget movie to be sending in 2020.

After all of the real-life racial violence we all witnessed this year have left so many of us raw, resorting to this type of Raiders of the Lost Ark schitck is not a good look. Some fans, like myself, can’t simply shrug off choices like these for the sake of “entertainment.” 

Ultimately the broad strokes lessons of perseverance, love and understanding born out of loneliness and rejection that WW84 is trying to convey unfortunately gets lost in too busy of a story. With too many emotions it tries to please too many people. I fully expect fans to be wholly divided over this. One side enjoying two and half hours of action entertainment without caring much for depth and the other, cringing at the paint-by-numbers diversity and 80’s stereotypes that wallpapered many scenes.

In WW84, Diana must ultimately learn the lesson of accepting the truth no matter how painful it is and no matter how much she wishes an outcome would be different. And the truth is, Wonder Woman 1984 is not a terrible movie, it’s just not a very good one. But don’t take my word for it. Watch Wonder Woman 1984 on HBO Max from the comfort of your own home this holiday and let me know what you think in the comments.

What did you think of WW84?

215 Comments

  • RHONDA GARZA December 25, 2020 at 8:42 pm

    It was fantastic. Your whole outlook was wrong a misleading. Maybe watch it again.

    • Nj December 26, 2020 at 7:37 am

      I promise you…. the movie was horrific and cringe worthy. Your outlook is definitely wrong and MISLEADING. Maybe you where watching another movie. You people are just plain ridiculous to say the least.

      • Brian Stevens December 26, 2020 at 1:26 pm

        “you people” hmm, sounds racist

        • Brent December 26, 2020 at 5:55 pm

          When did you people become a racial slur. But the fact that anybody would write a review criticizing this movie as being racially insensitive is completely hysterical. It’s a movie about a comic book hero not a documentary. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t meant to be historically accurate. It’s just meant to entertain for a couple hours.

          • MV December 27, 2020 at 5:15 pm

            True that.

        • Paul Hiouse December 27, 2020 at 3:36 am

          Umm Inthink “you people” meant the media who praises everything.

          This makes you the racist hmmm??

          • Ch December 27, 2020 at 1:15 pm

            How?

        • Dr. No December 27, 2020 at 12:42 pm

          Just like in this article, when this moron states ‘we (black people) invented everything how dare anyone get a single detail wrong, all black people are better. Oh……. ok.

      • Aquabro December 26, 2020 at 1:49 pm

        The issue with this movie (like all of DC films) unless you read the source material it seems misleading. Your example of the “Divine” wall the neighboring country is Kandaq home of Black Adam Bilalya (check spelling) was one of the reasons he was a slave before becoming SHAZAM!’s first champion. There is a HUGE amount of bad blood there hence the wish for recognition and autonomy.

      • 19jet54 December 26, 2020 at 5:35 pm

        I remember critics saying bad stuff about Star Wars in 1977 too. Boy were they wrong!

        • Anye December 26, 2020 at 10:26 pm

          Did you seriously just equate this with Star Wars??

        • Tanya December 27, 2020 at 1:03 pm

          Didn’t see it, but I’m not a big fan of DC. The stories for their heros keep changing up, Batman, Superman, and her first movie wasn’t that good either

      • Jill Hulse December 26, 2020 at 5:36 pm

        A bunch of us watched it last night and we loved it . You blerdgurl maybe a bit blurred by something other than the actual movie!!

      • M December 26, 2020 at 6:22 pm

        Your comment is horrific and cringe worthy. Your outlook is wrong, how do you like it? Just cause you have crap taste in movies. You can’t sit there and say someone else’s outlook is wrong. Its a opinion and apparently yours is dumb.

        • J December 27, 2020 at 2:51 pm

          Are you kidding? You just said the same thing they did and called their opinion dumb…. What an a–hole!

      • David December 26, 2020 at 7:00 pm

        I loved the first movie, and I more or less agree with this critique. WW84 really left me, wondering why DC superhero movies are so inconsistent, and often times just bad.

      • Ivn December 26, 2020 at 8:00 pm

        I dont even think this movie was actually canon to the DCEU storyline…regardless of the return roles by Steve, the Amazonians, and wonder woman herself. Sure it’s WW but the way there wasn’t a complete story told, or story ending…e.g. So when Minerva renounced her wish there was an actual DC villan killed off…but not just any villan…WW main enemy…?!?!? DCEU wouldn’t do that. And ok, max took back his wish…and everything just goes back to normal…? Shouldn’t the stone have returned to normal…and shouldn’t Max have felt the affects of that…like death…??? And how does simply renouncing your wish from a item of a GOD sends everything back to normal…poor plot development.

        So there’s evidence that this may haven’t been canon is undeniable. Mid credit scene: I was looking for a Flashpoint reference, or something that connected to the justice league or league of doom…hell, at this point a batman reference would have been better than what we got from the mid credit scene…I love Linda Carter…but seriously. Maybe a end credit scene…but mid credits are reserved for the transition from one film to the next…(marvel has spoiled me)

        My point is I simply dont believe this film was canon…maybe this was a stand alone movie…like “Joker”…DCEU is notorious for doing non-canon films and though I dont think the movie was terrible, I think it could have been less more misleading if it wasn’t under the impression of fans getting a second helping of what was/is one of the greatest superhero films in the DCEU: “Wonder Woman”

        In my opinion.

        • C. H. December 27, 2020 at 3:26 am

          I think since we know this WW is a part of the B v S / Justice League timeline they left a lot of areas open to possibly comeback to it. Granted there was no end credit of Flashpoint there is motive to come back to this movie if it was a stand alone. I would give it time. We’re still getting a recut of Justice League in 2021 so lets see.

        • Tony December 27, 2020 at 7:58 am

          First of all, Minerva didnt renounce her wish. Second, renouncing your wish makes things go back to normal because thats how the stone works (ie: diana wished for steve to come back, lost her powers, renounced her wish, regained her powers) Third, shy would there beca Batman reference? The movie was set in 1984???????

      • Mike December 26, 2020 at 9:35 pm

        Omg !! You are ridiculous ! People like you are the problem you take everything out of context , you people are referring to the people that watch the movie and think it’s a good movie. Either you are really stupid and lack knowledge on the English language and how to read a sentence or you just really racist and trying to make everybody racist with your point of view people like you are the problem please go away and stop trying to make a mountain out of nothing

      • John E Manly December 27, 2020 at 2:19 am

        Awful movie

      • James December 27, 2020 at 4:43 pm

        *Wasn”t terrible, Wasn’t great. Just kind of there. My children and grandchildren liked it fine. Gal does her usual very 9ood job as WW.

      • Dave December 27, 2020 at 5:28 pm

        Just because you or others do not like something, doesn’t mean others won’t and should not like it. We actually enjoyed the movie, we are allowed to enjoy a movie, just like you are allowed to not enjoy it!

    • Eliz December 26, 2020 at 10:30 am

      It was a very entertaining movie. I would hate to think like a PC liberal. Life must be sad when everything is viewed in such a negative light.

      • Carr December 26, 2020 at 1:21 pm

        Loved the music that plays for all 3 other movies she was in. Really missed it in this one. Not sure if that makes me a pc liberal or not. But I missed it.

        • Andrew December 26, 2020 at 3:28 pm

          Feel same about music whenever she was in a fight scene I really missed it on this movie. Would have made it better

      • Cheri Isaacs December 26, 2020 at 2:42 pm

        While the reviewer does have a specific lens through which they are critiquing the film, I have to say that this is actually a much more generous review than I can give.

        The movie is atrocious because the story is just so very bad. Many, many loose ends; many, many missed opportunities; not enough Wonder Woman; frankly not enough 80’s music for an 80’s movie….so, so disappointing and sad.

        • WonderWomyn December 26, 2020 at 4:55 pm

          You share some of my complaints about this movie, especially the lack of great 80’s music. I didn’t like Max Lord as the second villain at all and the direction his story took the movie. We needed more of Barbara/Cheetah and action scenes. I was happy to see Trevor back, but I’ve always felt romantic relationships kill superhero movies unless their death creates who our characters become. And I especially didn’t like the fact that Diana had sex with Trevor in another man’s body. Isn’t that rape?
          I knew who Asteria was the moment I saw those EYES. That also could have been a better cameo.

          • RB1226 December 26, 2020 at 6:15 pm

            Spot… Don’t change a word! Not sure why Max Lord was in this movie! He wasn’t needed, and the plot line wasn’t needed.
            Cheetah is the wonder woman villain! A cheetah movie, with an origin story, would have held up on it’s own!
            Just not happy with the writing on this one… Some was good, some not so good

          • HB December 26, 2020 at 7:28 pm

            If you watched through the credits you would have seen a better cameo.

        • DB December 26, 2020 at 4:56 pm

          I would have to agree with you on that

        • DarKur December 27, 2020 at 10:04 am

          It is atrocious. It’s just clumsy and a ridiculous story. Constantly trying too hard for that heart felt moment. The vignette of Lock as a kid prime example. Yelling at him peeing the bed–hysterical. Poor execution. Or gee, now that Diana said whatever it was she was trying to get across…i take back that wish about you dropping dead…while a EMT is performing CPR! Really? THAT was funny. Just trash. It’s a kids’ movie with Great effects.

      • Howard S December 26, 2020 at 3:14 pm

        I didn’t think it was a bad movie, just not very good. Contrived and just not interesting.
        I find it funny that some people try to politicize a critique of a movie.

      • ENRIQUE ALBERRO December 26, 2020 at 3:23 pm

        Amen!

      • Martinez December 26, 2020 at 4:31 pm

        My thoughts exactly well said.

      • James Holliday December 26, 2020 at 5:12 pm

        The movie was just ok. It needed a better team making this. Tighter narritive and editing. My problem is you can clearly see they took a dry erase board out, jotted down a handful of set pieces and broad strokes and got tunnel vision on just making those, without having it make sense. Care in point – someone obviously wanted a Ninja Warrior scene but to make it more like Cirque de Solie. Someone must have seen a show and we’re so taken by it, that highlighting that form of acrobatics trumped the story. It was so glaring that while watching the opening all I could see was Cirque and not what the point was. Cramming that all in and making sure to highlight it made certain part happen or be seen that made zero sense. Like when running up the ramp when Diana jumps into the ocean. If she just runs up the ramp and dives in, why did all the other contestants no dive in, but instead hopped on top of the big ram to ride it? At any time all of them could dive off the tip or even the sides. Then, Diana falls off the horse. She has super speed and can jump super high, why not chase the horse down or jump down the hill onto it or near it? She loses her now when she falls, but she knows she has one more target to hit, so why not pick up the bow and go shoot it? At the end, she’s stopped from winning cause she slid down the luge tube, but not cause she missed a target and it’s never mentioned that she missed the target. So if missing it wasn’t important, why highlight that she missed it? See, they lost thier point of the action sequence while still in it, showing sloppy storytelling.

        • DarKur December 27, 2020 at 10:05 am

          Yes. Like ‘we have to getthis our by Christmas…even if it’s crap’

        • Rence54 December 27, 2020 at 2:11 pm

          Im SO glad i’m not alone. I literally laughed aloud whilst saying “huh… Amazonian Ninja Warrior”. Which admittedly, had i been in a theater or group of people would make me rude. As i was alone, it just makes me crazy. I can live with that lol

          But seeing someone else make the ninja warrior comparison is kind of validating lol

      • Bubbaho December 26, 2020 at 5:31 pm

        So you get to decide what diversity is accepteable ? Whats the issue with africa or muslims.? Who cares?

        Ww was a good movie that did drag out in the middle.

        • Paul Hoise December 27, 2020 at 3:40 am

          Lol you you misunderstood wat that meant.

          Shows your ignorance.

          Look it up so you understand that sentence defends minorities.

          Haha you made me laugh at your ignorance haha

      • Howard Payton December 26, 2020 at 10:23 pm

        Movie wasn’t bad, but it definitely doesn’t depict what Washington, DC looked like in 1984. I’ve from here and the city was nicknamed, “Chocolate city”. There was little to no “Chocolate” in this movie and other than the monuments, no real representation on the city at all.

      • Anye December 26, 2020 at 10:27 pm

        Of course here’s Karen, bringing politics into it.

      • crm December 27, 2020 at 7:43 am

        I agree with you. It must be sad to live a life where everything has to be political. What happened to being entertained. To be politically correct you have to be a liar and see things through rose colored glasses.

      • Me December 27, 2020 at 9:23 am

        First wonder woman movie was better by far.

      • Rachel December 27, 2020 at 10:38 am

        The review was kind in my opinion and it’s a REVIEW. It’s meant to completely break everything down. It’s not the be all end all. It was a badly made movie considering how incredibly long we waited for it and how much better the first one was. So if you love it enough to defend it be my guest but you’re one of few bc it was not widely received by viewers.

        I wish you guys understood how a movie review works and that whoever wrote this has moved on to the next job they have so you can’t really bully them in the comments like you’re all used to doing on social media. It wasn’t a good movie. Move on

    • Deb Sheers December 26, 2020 at 12:59 pm

      Rhonda Garza, I totally agree with you! I hope people watch the movie and decide for themselves.

    • Flash Gordon December 26, 2020 at 1:29 pm

      It was garbage. I think you know it. Steve Trevor was a waste. He knew how to fly a jet? The golden armor? WW can fight Doomsday no problem but need cheesy golden armor for the cheetah? Lord as a villain was garbage. The whole 1984 thing was a gimmick nothing more. The writing was garbage. The special effects were the worst…the special effects were better in 1984. I loved the first movie. And she stole the show in the her other 2 appearances. But this was a piece of garbage.

      • Clark Kent December 26, 2020 at 2:28 pm

        Flash Gordon. You’re just jealous you don’t have a good movie yet.

        • Fukyoo December 26, 2020 at 4:44 pm

          WTF are you talking about? FLASH was probably the greatest movie ever made in the 80s. And the soundtrack? I dare you to name one movie that is even one tenth as good

      • WonderWomyn December 26, 2020 at 5:00 pm

        By the time she fought Doomsday she was stronger. This took place way before that. She had to wear the armor because the stronger Cheetah became WW got weaker thanks to Barbara’s wish. Cheetah could have also looked better.

        • Jim December 27, 2020 at 11:51 am

          That would actually have been clever and an interesting twist. But Barbara and Diana had no relation in how their strength waxed and waned. They were each individually tied to their wish, Barbara was not stealing it from Diana.

      • Evan Zaremba December 26, 2020 at 6:55 pm

        That’s right. Because Warnermedia became the worst company ever owe. They decide to release those movies on HBO Max and it’s a nightmare.

      • DarKur December 27, 2020 at 10:07 am

        You are correct about everything.

    • Betsy W December 26, 2020 at 1:41 pm

      I agree Rhonda. Maybe it’s because I am not a super hero fan, a marvel fan (except Deadpool) or even a mummy/raiders fan. I had zero expectations, zero knowledge, but had my mind blown with the here’s how we got Trump metaphors. I watched it exclusively cuz I live Wiig.

    • Jai December 26, 2020 at 2:11 pm

      I agree with Rhonda ‘s comment above. It’s sad that people like this author have to sit there and literally nic pick every detail of a fantasy/fiction movie. Leave the political scheme thoughts at home! This movie was done perfectly and I loved WW and the part she depicted in this movie.

      • Rachel December 27, 2020 at 10:42 am

        So what are movie reviewers allowed to do if not literally review a movie. Why can they not have an opinion just like you. The sensitivity

    • Steven Paul Rodriguez December 26, 2020 at 3:14 pm

      You couldn’t pay me to watch that again it was garbage.

    • ENRIQUE December 26, 2020 at 3:21 pm

      Totally agree Rhonda! The author trying to inject “woke”-ness into her article is what really doesnt “land” at all in what otherwise was a great movie! OMG (stands for Oh My God! Sorry can we still say God without offending someone?) if the post credits mean that Gal Gadot and Lynda Carter will team-up somehow sign me up for the sequel/quadrilogy!

      • DarKur December 27, 2020 at 10:10 am

        Yes. Watch the beginning and the cameo at the end. Skip everything else. Unless you’re under 12.

    • Prince Wilson December 26, 2020 at 3:52 pm

      The reviewer was right..but she did point out things that most movie-watchers really wont care too much about. “Fantastic”?…no. but i respect your opinion. Everyone is not supposed to feel the same way about everything.

    • Amy December 26, 2020 at 5:10 pm

      Loved it too

    • M December 26, 2020 at 6:17 pm

      I agree I loved it.

    • Jim smith December 26, 2020 at 7:12 pm

      This m0vie sucked. What does her as a kid have anythong to do with the future of the movie. Movied sucked so much

    • Tjj December 26, 2020 at 8:08 pm

      Nah it was awful. I struggled to stay awake. Two hours of trash.

    • Tracy Bush December 26, 2020 at 9:26 pm

      This movie socks the worst hero movie besides the first hulk it was not good at all

      • Nay December 27, 2020 at 12:32 pm

        This movie was trash. Period

      • Rence54 December 27, 2020 at 2:18 pm

        Punctuation is our friend.

    • Ct December 26, 2020 at 9:28 pm

      I disagree. It’s a poorly written movie that makes little sense, many plot holes, goofy shallow characters with a rushed ending. They wish and renounce their wish globally in 15 minutes? Our whole group of 12 watchers all agreed it was a cheap rental at best. Big miss.

      • DarKur December 27, 2020 at 10:11 am

        Yep

    • Womansuck123 December 26, 2020 at 9:41 pm

      It sucked and barely could watch this awful supposed 80s style comic crap? If I went yo see this in the theater I would have stayed near the popcorn stand and then asked for a refund.

    • Herewego December 27, 2020 at 10:39 am

      This movie was the worse superhero movie I have ever seen. What 30fps on all cgi scenes. Come on dolby vision? Hahaha it was definition of terrible 80s film

    • Cuba D. December 27, 2020 at 12:24 pm

      1 of the WORST movies I’ve ever seen!! I waited patiently, 4 this?? WTF!!

    • Matthew C Whitcher December 27, 2020 at 12:52 pm

      This movie SUCKED. It was beyond stupid.

    • MeiraHallaway December 27, 2020 at 12:56 pm

      I thought this movie was good. Not as good as the first but I enjoyed it. It also taught a lesson, a deeper meaning. That the truth sometimes hurts and you can’t lie to yourself or others because it hurt them or yourself in the long run.

    • Antoino M. December 27, 2020 at 1:06 pm

      I agree, not a terrible movie by no means, but not a great one either. I felt it was all over the place and too long. Very disappointed in Cheetah’s screen time. Not as much as I was disappointed in the film though. Another DC fail.

    • Wishing Rock December 27, 2020 at 1:47 pm

      We all wanted it to succeed, but it was awful. When the mall sequence was happening at the beginning, I thought it was going to cut to some kind of film crew making a commercial. Instead it was an actual scene : (
      Then it all went to hell… A wishing rock, lame villians and topped off with random powers Wonder Woman gains because ‘flying is easy’ …All you need is air, wind and a crappy movie.

    • Stephen Barette December 27, 2020 at 2:31 pm

      I agree with the The Blerd’s review more than I disagree with it. The story was far from bulletproof. But the director had the balls to finally show us what a clown even a Trump-lite looks like on film. Other than Michael Moore, NO ONE else has done this. Thumbs up overall.

    • Angelica Chavarria December 27, 2020 at 2:31 pm

      I agree with you. Her whole perspective is bs.

    • chrisd December 27, 2020 at 2:37 pm

      So Arab Muslims don’t display racist attitudes towards Black Africans and Jews? So it’s only ok to portray racist behavior if the racist is white? I guess I wrongly viewed it as simple entertainment , I mean it barely registered with me that Minerva’s boss in the 1980″s was a black woman but I guess that’s because I’m a white guy.

    • Ghostface PenKillah December 27, 2020 at 3:04 pm

      Movie wasn’t good. But the author of this article is whiney as all hell. When I go to the park to hand out food to the homeless its only black people there that are homeless. Least the whites gave em food. Hows that racist? It’s accurate. You guys invented break dancing there fore white people can’t? But I bet if blacks were break dancing u would write that it was racist and stereotypical. Mexicans invented Spanish so Beyonce shouldn’t be singing Mi Gente. Get it together. Biased af

    • Will Foster December 27, 2020 at 4:03 pm

      Right? I saw it, thought it was great. Made sense to me halfway through the article to find out the author is a POC.
      Only someone SEEKING OUT that kind of stuff will see it.
      Just like everyone else on that side of the playground, who needs to find this stuff with no bearing.
      I hate media

  • Denise Perry December 25, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    If you don’t have an imagination on who WW is and not realize that this is from the 80s, then you r an idiot.

    • Nj December 26, 2020 at 7:42 am

      Movies are made to make your imaginations come to life you idiot. Who doesn’t realize its from the 80’s? You do not realize that whichever year movie that this movie was based in, does not negate the fact that movie is still down right awful, boring, and filled with incomplete storylines.

      • Flash Gordon December 26, 2020 at 1:31 pm

        Thank you. This was complete trash. In effect…they ruined an amazing thing with one movie. I would carefully consider hiring Jenkins for anything else for a long long time

        • Wonderwomansuck123 December 26, 2020 at 9:43 pm

          Agree 100% well said

          • Will Foster December 27, 2020 at 4:04 pm

            You must be black too

      • C December 26, 2020 at 9:30 pm

        Use the word idiot in you reply? Shows your review is from an immature shallow person.

      • Mia John December 27, 2020 at 9:41 am

        I loved the movie and feel like it was just what it was, entertainment. I’m a huge WW fan and grew up watching Lynda Carter as WW. I also grew up watching all the DC cartoons. This movie was meant to be set in the 80’s and let’s be honest, everything was camp back then. I think people expect too much. It’s a movie based on a fictional character. In the 80s everything was a stereotype and full of tropes. As a POC I’m not offended. The world was full of wall street greed but funnily enough we were more innocent back then. We are so jaded now that a cool movie has to be picked a part because it doesn’t live up to the crazy of today. Get out of here. Just enjoy the movie for what it was, entertainment. I know I did. I loved how it took us back to a time where people experienced moral dilemmas and we saw the moral justice of the choices they made. We saw Diana learn that cheating will not make you a hero and that was the basis of the movie. Max Lord cheated for success and his greed led to total chaos. Cheetah wanted to be seen and accidentally cheated but then refused to change after she realized the effects of her wish. It was just showing us the consequences of our actions or greed. While throwing in some very cool action scenes. Come on, she lassoed a lightening bolt. if that wasn’t cool, then I don’t know what to tell you. And Lynda Carter’s cameo in the credits was all this fan girl needed to make it a very enjoyable movie.

        • Will Foster December 27, 2020 at 4:05 pm

          Thank you. Well said

    • Lfm December 26, 2020 at 10:18 am

      I agree with the author. It was not terrible, but not good. In the tragic traditions of sequels, it was outdone by it’s predecessor.

      • Andrew December 26, 2020 at 3:38 pm

        Yes it could have been so much more. It was all over the place the way the wishes were made didn’t make any sense on how Lord became the wishing stone then was able to broadcast it over satellite without touching. Didn’t explain enough on how it worked. Lord gave them whatever they wished for first without negotiating what he wanted didn’t make any scene to me hope the next one is written better this one not so good.

    • Betsy December 26, 2020 at 1:44 pm

      Yeah I just sorta enjoyed the ride, momentarily taken out of the moment by a cgi whip. Other then that I really enjoyed it.

    • Aj December 27, 2020 at 10:40 am

      Definition of terrible 80s film activated lol movie was terrible

  • Shah December 25, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    It’s weird reading some of these reviews. It’s like they didnt watch the same movie I did.

    This review in particular got several things wrong (for ex: the dreamstone did NOT have the powers of the Olympian gods; this was specifically stated in the film).

    Meanwhile while, what does “taking a film seriously” even mean? It’s a superhero film where people fly & benchpress dump trucks.

    I’m usually fine with letting people have their own opinions, wrong as I feel they might he. But I draw the line at creating false narratives that potentially damage the things I happen to love.

    • Wonder Woman December 27, 2020 at 10:48 am

      Most superhero movie watchers do take these movies pretty seriously. You’re very able to take any movie seriously if you want to. It was not a cartoon or specifically a children’s movie and costed a small fortune to make so why is taking it seriously the issue you have.
      How could you get so offended by a review made by a stranger? I don’t get that. You could easily find a review that aligned with your viewing experience and live like that if you can’t handle it.

  • Collin Galbraith December 25, 2020 at 11:24 pm

    Why are folks so into this film? The first one was strictly average. They should of released in theater only for 3 weeks, then do HBOMax for one month, then video on demand by end of March. It will still make some money guaranteed.

    • John December 26, 2020 at 7:55 am

      Why are they into this film??? Gal Gadot of course. I mean ,are you blind?

  • Jonah Spaulding December 25, 2020 at 11:56 pm

    “WW84” was an awesome sequel!
    Gal Gadot was spectacular!
    Pedro Pascal as “Max Lord” was insane!
    Kristen Wiig as “Cheetah” was killer!
    I loved it and watched it twice Christmas Day. I talked to several of friends who also saw it, some in the theater and they all loved it, too.
    The special effects were fantastic and the 1984 theme was epic.
    Don’t care to hear the opinion of some movie critic that I’ve never heard of before, who’s name doesn’t matter and who I’ll probably never hear of again in my entire life.
    Great movie! Can’t wait to see in IMAX and I’m sure I’ll watch it again and again on HBO Max.

    • Joaquin Marin December 26, 2020 at 5:36 am

      Too many times movies are dissected and over analyzed to enable the critic to “shine” at their profession. They have the power to dilute and eviscerate a film but ONLY IF WE ALLOW OURSELVES TO BE GUIDED BY THEIR
      PROCLAMATIONS. We will in the end watch the movie and make our own decisions on it. For myself, I pay to watch a movie that will allow me to escape to a place where I can forget my problems.

    • Timothy Slavin December 26, 2020 at 10:45 am

      I agree in fact I think I’m going to watch it again tonight

    • Flash Gordon December 26, 2020 at 1:33 pm

      I assume you were paid a lot to post this and attach your name to it.
      I hope u were lying when u said u watched it twice.

    • Gary Gearheart December 26, 2020 at 6:29 pm

      I agree Jonah, I loved the movie and will watch again.

  • Rozy December 26, 2020 at 12:11 am

    Cheetah was under developed I didn’t like how cheetah was done they could have made her look evil, wilder, cunning and not like an extra in cats. Wiig is a former SNL star I thought they would use that before changing her turning her into a villain. Lord was basically trump if you ask me, and that people effect other people I got that part. If you ask me they should have used only one bad guy like they did in the last movie.

    • Q. Banks December 26, 2020 at 2:06 pm

      There were 2 villains in the first movie also… Ludendorff and Dr. Poison… And don’t give me that “Ares was the villain” argument because he wasn’t, he was just the catalyst motivating the true villains.

  • Jeremy December 26, 2020 at 12:12 am

    The 2017 movie was very good. WW84 was clearly designed to be nothing like it. Good parts? Yes. Good movie? No. But my kids liked it, so I won’t tell them how horrible the storyline was.

  • Melissa December 26, 2020 at 12:32 am

    I loved the 80s and Wonder Woman but I was a tad disappointed with the initial plot of this movie. Especially with what they did to Diana & Steve.

  • Nick.L December 26, 2020 at 12:41 am

    I didn’t really enjoy,it felt sluggish not much action for a super hero movie. I understand its supposed to give a nice message but cmon its a superhero film, and if it’ll be more of a romantic focused movie then don’t make it two and a half hours long.
    2/10

    • Howard Matthews December 26, 2020 at 12:55 pm

      Very good point.

  • carey webb December 26, 2020 at 12:41 am

    You need to leave the diversity/ social engineering commentary out of your reviews. That’s not your job. But, I agree this sequel was pretty much a let down from the The first one and it was also too long. But worth the watch and in a theater where superhero movies are meant to be watched.

    • Kris Hatcher December 26, 2020 at 10:41 am

      Although I may not agree completely with her review I find it quite insulting to tell someone what they should be doing with THEIR website. Find another critic if you don’t like her words but you have zero right to tell someone what they can say

      • Ashley December 26, 2020 at 12:21 pm

        Actually they can say what they like. And so can the critic. That’s the point. Neither has to listen to the other but they can scream at each other all they want.

    • chrisd December 27, 2020 at 2:41 pm

      Exactly, or at least don’t make your feelings about it effect the entire movie review

  • Stephen A. December 26, 2020 at 12:42 am

    I found the movie very entertaining with only a few minor flaws here and there. It must be extremely sad to see everything solely from a racial point of view, and not even to be pleased that it was incredibly diverse cast, including dozens and dozens of “minor” characters, some of whom you mentioned here in a derogatory way. I thought they all added much to the plot, which again was only somewhat flawed and clearly over the top, but in a comic book way that’s acceptable to the genre. Rewatch it without your race-tinted glasses on.

    • JoenDallas December 26, 2020 at 9:50 pm

      She’s a woman of color writing a film review about a genre she loves from the viewpoint of a woman of color. Why WOULDN’T she talk about the racial aspect of a franchise in her own blog about the intersection of nerddom and POC? You’re just salty because she’s pointing out that the movie wasn’t a perfect follow-up to the first one (spoiler alert: it wasn’t).

      – The plot was a bit chaotic
      – The Cheetah and Kristen Wiig were underused
      – Chris Pine was great, but deserved the Lyle Waggoner (“40 years have passed. So what.”) reentry.
      – Wonder Woman should never utter the words “I’ll never love again.” I DON’T CARE if it’s Chris Pine…every woman in the theater should have thrown up a little in their mouths at that quote.

      People who are not as thrilled with the movie pick it apart because we want so much better for Gal, WW, and the franchise. One bad movie can practically kill a franchise and then we’ll wait decades for them to reboot. We ALL deserve better than that.

      • MP December 27, 2020 at 9:48 am

        100%

  • Patricia L Dickson December 26, 2020 at 12:44 am

    We thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Your take is quite off base, in my opinion. Recommend it for a nice break from reality and today’s nearly unbearable stress. Great Christmas activity for the family!

  • Derk diggler December 26, 2020 at 12:58 am

    The movie was very dope and personal appreciate At&t and DC for thinking about the people and putting it on HBO MAX that’s a legit way to keep this pandemic from spreading cause the hipcritcal nerds out here don’t seem to think this shit is real thank you for giving this true work of art to us in a safe way shots out to WB Ms Patty Jenkins and that sexy beautiful talent Gal aka Wonder Woman oh WB y’all need to put all your movies out like this cause weather these jerk off who gives a fuck need to get a real job ass diaper stains think this virus ant going no wear no time soon facts so people get use to it get out your feelings this is what is now the movie was fire point blank WB four thumbs up

  • Dov E. December 26, 2020 at 1:03 am

    Your review was all the way off. I grew up in the 80s. Mind you, it was a little stereotyped, but not as much as you put it out to be. As far as her invisible jet and ability to glide on currents, all comic book accurate and it made sense because up until post-Crisis on infinite earths, she wasn’t able to fly around the world close to light speed like Superman. She acquired this power as a blessing from Hermes in Wonder Woman #1, “I bless her with speed and the power of flight.”-Hermes. Her power set and introduction of it is from New 52. Back no diversity. Ummmmm,……there were a ton of Black amazons in this and the last movie. You reaching. What no Nubia? Do you know who Nubia is? Wonder Woman’s Black twin sister aka the Black Wonder Woman and btw, in case you’re wondering I’m Blatino and know more about Diana than most people. Anyways……imma sum up your review in two words: Bye Felicia. Seriously though.

    • Kat December 26, 2020 at 9:31 am

      Thank you!

  • Joaquin Aslan December 26, 2020 at 1:11 am

    Total Garbage. A woman who has zero idea what’s going on today tried to show how hip to it she was by inflicting her ignorance on us . I was embarrassed for her and more than a little offended. The acting was so horribly melodramatic that, like u , I thought it was a deliberate not to the 80s. Patti cake owes us all an apology- and am early retirement

  • Emma December 26, 2020 at 1:19 am

    I was really looking forward to this movie and was incredibly disappointed with the lack of a plot and also the divergence from both Cheetah and Maxwell Lords stories/origins/characters in the comics. The first Wonder Woman was amazing, and I still love Gal Gadot as the heroine, but I feel this movie really fell short. :/

  • PH December 26, 2020 at 1:41 am

    I thought the first WW movie was really good. This one…. not even close. Patty Jenkins was too busy trying to be a politically correct feminist and she failed miserably. Why did she lose the sword n shield again? Steve was dead. Leave him that way. His character in ’84 was more of a joke than anything else.

  • William December 26, 2020 at 2:26 am

    Very interesting read. I do not agree with anything you stated, but your article made me think. I found Diana to be pure and the sequel to be another wonderful story in her long life.

  • Brett December 26, 2020 at 2:43 am

    Remember the days when we could just watch a movie and not care if socially and racially fair??? This critic needs to stfu.

    • Ed December 26, 2020 at 10:43 am

      I agree 100%. I dont listen to critics but their negative reviews can really damage a movie because a lot of people will not think for themselves watch it. With Covid and so many staying at home, it seems that everyone has become a movie critic. Just forget your troubles for 2 hours and enjoy yourself.

    • Kris Hatcher December 26, 2020 at 10:45 am

      Go to another page then. This is HER BLOG and HER OPINIONS. Of course some guy named Brett would say this.. smh

      • Slick Willy December 26, 2020 at 9:44 pm

        How about YOU go to a different page. Nope, your just going to sit at your keyboard flaming everyone that doesn’t agree with you. Idiot…

  • Fujab December 26, 2020 at 2:47 am

    The kids loved it, we liked it. Keep taking your marvel money, anyone with a brain know journalism is dead in America.

  • Kael December 26, 2020 at 3:10 am

    Your issues with the diversity in this film aren’t very warranted. Yes what went down in Egypt was terrible but thats an example of religion and politics and how they resonate today. He “built” a wall separating his people from everyone else (which is a fictitious nation in DC comics used often maybe as not to offened people ahem) again terrible but it echoes peoples hate and selfishness to not be content in a palace with riches. Some people just wanted love and happyness. The Mayan shaman? Not a race easy to find but who else could read (or have had it tought to them) the characters it fits the location of the burial of the stone. If he were asian, mexican, african or any other poc it would’ve been an issue (non-issue really) lets be honest. Can be just be happy that POC are getting roles and not picky at what exact roles they are?? Its an 80s movie filmed in 2019 of it were filmed in the actual 80s you would get one POC and it would be Richard Pryor (rip but still).

    That aside loved the film but yes its flawed. The first one knocks it out of the park in MANY ways this one felt more like a.treat to DC fans and REAL wonder woman fans not just big budget movie fans. The first film is a war drama with a superhero tossed in and worked perfectly. 84 is big and has consequences but i was bummed that 2 of DCs biggest villains didnt get to stick around. I mean you hope the hero wins (in comparison i was rooting for Black Manta to live and stick around in Aquaman while loving Aquaman) but man i want a rematch!
    Pedro ate the hell out of that stone and then every scene. The right amount of camp i want my bad guy. Practical makeup make for a better CATs wink wink. Wiig amazing. Pine was great and good way to give them closure. Opening EXTENDED scene amazing. THE JET HAD ME LOSING IT IN MY THEATER SEAT never seen them doing that big props! Be happy with the things you have and the ones you love appreciate that and never want more!

  • Shar Grah December 26, 2020 at 3:18 am

    It was a mess. So many inconsistencies and screwy plot points left dangling. Characters in one place and suddenly in another half way around the world (does WW have a transporter I wasn’t aware of?). With such a long movie why spend so much time on picking out clothes for Steve Trevor? And kids playing obliviously in the middle of the highway with Hummers bearing down on them; it’s not like they can’t see them from miles away on flat desert terrain (mom was right there, too—worst mother of the year award). Oh so many things wrong.

  • Dennis Flynn December 26, 2020 at 4:15 am

    I was expecting a shit show based on reviews and I tend to agree with critics but this was actually good. Normally “boring” villains like Lord dont interest me as much as say the crazy ones like Joker or Loki but Lord was genuinely interesting and I could watch a whole movie about him. I expected the same kinda boring story from Wiigs character Barbara Minerva but I was amazed by her performance. That scene when she encounters that drunk scumbag that harassed her earlier and attempted to assault her was amazing and terrifying bc it was such a change from her character. This nice and kind person who thinks of others is now sadisticly toying with a human being like a cat would with a mouse its killing. It was intense and frightening and made for a great scene. You genuinely didn’t know how dark that scene was going to get. Her goodbye to Steve was heartbreaking for me and I am very sensitive to death and saying goodbye forever. Once it startef playing the track from Sunshine (which is perhaps one of my all time favourote movie soundtrack pieces!!!) I lost it and started crying. By the time the end hit I was pleasantly suprised and satisfied with the movie that I had fully expected to dislike. The mid credits scene was an amazing tribute as well!!!

  • Lara December 26, 2020 at 4:24 am

    I went home disappointed. I didn’t think it would he on the level of the first. But I didn’t expect to cringe over if. Hated Pedro’s performance! Loved the opening sequence but Diana should not have been lonely and pathetic !

  • Eddie December 26, 2020 at 5:23 am

    In what reality do you live?

  • Joaquin Marin December 26, 2020 at 5:38 am

    Too many times movies are dissected and over analyzed to enable the critic to “shine” at their profession. They have the power to dilute and eviscerate a film but ONLY IF WE ALLOW OURSELVES TO BE GUIDED BY THEIR
    PROCLAMATIONS. We will in the end watch the movie and make our own decisions on it. For myself, I pay to watch a movie that will allow me to escape to a place where I can forget my problems.

  • john brand December 26, 2020 at 6:01 am

    Whoever wrote just don’t know what to talk about this movie was awesome.

  • Edwin Alfaro December 26, 2020 at 6:09 am

    Get the facts straight, it’s Gal Gadot’s 4th appearance as Wonder Woman.

  • Chris Wood December 26, 2020 at 7:04 am

    Now, I’d like to say I really did enjoy this movie. Its not better then the first wonder women, but it is certainly better then Harley Quinn and birds of prey movie.. I liked the opening scene and the fact the younger Diana got clocked for cheating. The creation of the invisible jet and Diana learning to flying was great. Now I do agree with the critic on 1 point, what was the point of bringing back Steve? Cheetah should have been Diana’s main villian and spent more time building her up to Diana’s most formidable foe. Frankly the director and writers of this movie should have found some way for Cheetah to stay as she was, instead of taking it all away. Every hero needs their rival to fight.. All in all this was a good movie, that could have been better. Everybody should watch this movie and make your own judgement.

  • Amy Dermen December 26, 2020 at 7:21 am

    I agree with the cat make up fail 100%

  • JC December 26, 2020 at 7:29 am

    It sucked. Worst superhero film of all time including early Batman movies. Far worse than 1st WW. Just being honest.

    • ST December 26, 2020 at 3:14 pm

      I wouldn’t say the worst of all time. Did you see the last Fantastic Four movie? Green Lantern? I could go on. Not the best I’ve seen but certainly not the worst.

      • Slick Willy. December 26, 2020 at 9:48 pm

        The last Fantastic Four was pretty bad, but at least they did a good job with the CGI. Green lantern was actually decent other than the CGI suits. It had a good story and actually made sense. WW84 was worse than both of those movies combined. CGI was horrible. The scene where she swings to save the kids from being run over, you can clearly see the kids being picked up before she ever even touches them.

  • Melody Singer December 26, 2020 at 7:42 am

    The movie was a total waste of time. The acting was so so and the script was terrible. It’s also nonsensical to evaluate the movie as to whether it is politically correct or not. Points like this is what is destroying our country. Enjoy the movie for what it is.

  • Don Lane December 26, 2020 at 7:51 am

    I’m currently watching WW84. Some of your critiques were spot on while others felt eerily similar to many SW fan bases et al; ‘it’s not the film I wanted so it isn’t any good at all!’. That is simply a lazy way to act as a film critic.

    • Michael December 26, 2020 at 4:49 pm

      Life must be hard for you. The movie is awesome you need to come out your leftist college mindset and just enjoy a good movie and life … Be happy

  • John December 26, 2020 at 7:58 am

    The movie was great. Critics need to just shut up and stop using good movies as a platform to make a name for themselves.They need to go critique themselves. They are kinda worthless. If you like Gal Gadot, you will love this movie,its that simple.

  • Kevin December 26, 2020 at 8:06 am

    Loved your review, it was absolutely correct and honest. I love these types of movies and I’ll admit this is an okay and somewhat campy movie. I was really hoping for more but it was ok glad I didn’t have to pay theater and concession stand prices for this one.

  • Rho December 26, 2020 at 8:32 am

    It wasn’t great like the first movie but it wasn’t bad like this critic makes it sound, it was just good. It is a nod to the 80s stereotypes yes but that was fine with me and I didn’t focus on half the things they focused on as a negative. It’s a fictional movie that I didn’t take that serious. If you are looking for historical accuracy then maybe this is not the movie for you but if you just want to go on a ride I would recommend you give it a try.

  • Zel December 26, 2020 at 9:37 am

    I feel like you didnt watch the movie at all. Your description of the entire thing is absolutely wrong. Especially when you were describing the stone amd the wishes. 1: The stone doesn’t grant wishes WITHIN EARSHOT. you have to be touching it. 2: Minerva didnt wish for Diana’s powers. 3: Maxwell wished to BE THE STONE, not to draw power from it. This is an awful article with no statistics on how it so-called “Fell”. Maybe you should find a new job because you’re horrible at this

  • Jason December 26, 2020 at 10:18 am

    I enjoyed the movie. One or two blips. Main one is the one that hits all movies with multiple main villains. Prior to recent years Maxwell Lord and Wonder Woman have next to no connection. Would have liked to have either seen less of him or not at all. No disrespect to the actor. He’s great as the Mandalorian and was pretty good on GoT. Spent too much time on his character and spent way too much time building up Barbara to get to the Cheetah payoff. Would have liked to have seen the Cheetah form in the City and not just appear for one fight on the Military base. Outside of those two things I enjoyed the movie.

    Would love to eventually see her and Captain Marvel (Shazam) meet. Since both are connected to the Gods.

  • Guillermo December 26, 2020 at 10:46 am

    My friend! You are creating the wrong port on response for a review. It’s your opinion and I respect that, but the movie is amazing!

  • Tommy Cowardin December 26, 2020 at 11:13 am

    It was less than expected after waiting so long, it disappointed in a way that failed to deliver much more than an extended episode of an unfinished series, the plot itself was juvenile and lacked imagination……

  • Aaron Soto December 26, 2020 at 11:30 am

    I thought the movie started out ok but then realized it was garbage! Some scenes were soo bad and unbelievable that I just laughed. The plot was silly and yea the Indian guy who just happens to know it all ? Also the fireworks scene was bad, director seemed confused. They should have brought back chris pine thru some sort of time machine but the whole thing of his soul in another body was just terrible writing… WW84=

    • PRINCE WILSON December 26, 2020 at 4:08 pm

      The idea of a “Time machine” would have been much worse.

  • Shannon December 26, 2020 at 11:48 am

    Movie was garbage. Gadot was good, but couldn’t save the convoluted, yet wholly unoriginal plot & cliche character profiles. Hard to watch at times. That said, any reviewer watching through woke colored glasses, more interested in diversity quotas & representation than actual quality, shouldn’t be a platform anyone gives a squat about anyway. Pathetic.

  • Leisa December 26, 2020 at 12:14 pm

    The movie was good for entertainment only but if you really want to get into the specific it had a lot of misfits, but it also had some things thatake you think ” is this 2020 or 1984″ Like division uglyness racial division just a mess up world COVID-19 etc. But like I stated ENTERTAINMENT a MOVIE maybe for the next one (which there will be because of the ending) we will be better entertained.

  • Wonja Blohwmie December 26, 2020 at 12:43 pm

    Not good. The movie is decisive.

  • Melyssa December 26, 2020 at 1:00 pm

    It was a fun movie. Honestly, people are trying to put too much on it. Yes, it had flaws. Yes, Max Lord is a Trump-like character. Stop trying to put so much into it and just enjoy it for what it is – a fun movie with great action sequences.

  • Nate December 26, 2020 at 1:36 pm

    You need to check your math. 1918 to 1984 is only 64 years, not “over 70 years.”

    • Nate December 26, 2020 at 1:36 pm

      66 years, I need to check my math as well lol. Point remains though, not over 70 years.

  • Jacqueline Marchand Black December 26, 2020 at 1:48 pm

    Liked the film.. didn’t think it was as good as the first one though.
    See no reason to get all riled up about the review…just her opinion as is everyone else’s, Thought the movie could have been much better….but then that’s just my opinion and shouldn’t cause a bit of care,

  • Ivan December 26, 2020 at 2:01 pm

    This is another great movie that proves how out of touch movie critics are with the general public. Luckily at the end of the day nobody really cares what critics have to say. If the fans love it the movie is a success and makes money and this movie is going to make money!
    I loved it and everyone I’ve spoken to have loved it too. Great job to everyone involved!

  • Christie Day December 26, 2020 at 2:01 pm

    I liked the movie. I thought it captured the original Wonder Woman spirit from the old comics and especially the old TV show. The character is a warrior goddess who prefers to talk things out rather than fight. I think it is great for kids to see someone with tremendous power control themselves. I liked how she tried to prevent collateral damage and did not even want the people she was fighting to be seriously injured. After watching the Avengers indescrimanently destroy cities and accidentally invent evil robots, I appreciated more of a Christopher Reeves as Superman type of cheesy rescue kittens from trees feel from my super hero. However, I did think the fight at the end was too dark and I cringed at many of the, “look how 80s this is,” scenes. It was still a good family movie for kids to watch with their parents. It was not academy awards material by any means, but my family was excited to watch a movie with high production values after a year of no big budget blockbusters. I believe that many of the critic’s issues with the movie are issues with the original character herself, as I feel this movie captured the feel of Wonder Woman in her older comic books more closely than the last one. My family liked the movie. Great movie for kids to watch with parents. Not the best movie ever made. Why do they always have to put more than one villain in a sequel? More than one main villain causes one or both to loose development.

  • Nroman December 26, 2020 at 2:09 pm

    I thought the movie was a little slow, that the scene with kids on road was dumb. I teared up with message of movie in relation with today. I didn’t get how first movie can have great time period costumes and sets, and then have Fanny packs and nikes in sequel. All actors were amazing.

  • DC movies are Wack December 26, 2020 at 2:10 pm

    Just another wack DC Movie. I dream of the day Marvel studios owns DC copyrights smh.

  • Kadasha December 26, 2020 at 2:33 pm

    Enjoyed the movie very much. My opinion matters no more than anyone else’s. Didn’t think it was perfect or as good as the first movie, but thought it was well done in almost every department. Can’t hate someone for trying to be diverse and not quite landing it how you think it should be.

  • John December 26, 2020 at 2:52 pm

    In the 80’s there were many “all white” break dancing crews. Granted there were also many mixed crews, all black, all (insert different ethnicity here) crews. What this has to do with anything, including who invented break dancing, is beyond me. Smells like faux outrage to me. The “Muslims” doing an ethnic cleansing is not what was happening here. This is the DCEU, not the MCU, you have to know the source material otherwise you are at risk of letting your SJW sensibilities take you down path that shows your high and mighty snobbery while also showing your ignorance of the source.

    As for the movie, it had a lot of cringe, it wasn’t as good as the first, and it is difficult to believe this is the same group that made the first movie because the tone was SO different. Other than that it was watchable and fun, but I am glad watched it on my TV rather than paying $15 to watch it on the big screen.

  • Pam December 26, 2020 at 2:57 pm

    It was well worth the money I spend for an HBO Max membership. I love tear jerkers!

  • Don Atari December 26, 2020 at 3:11 pm

    I did have the thought that Minerva’s plot was cut short. Where was she at the end of the movie, did she learn her lesson? But the other stuff you mentioned, it’s just a movie, I think you’re trying to maybe read a little bit too much into it

  • Bill C December 26, 2020 at 3:43 pm

    Agree with all the points you made in your review and glad you pointed out the fake diversity attempts. Like many other things in this movie – like the plot, villains, and acting were just sloppy and cliched. This is from someone who thought the first WW movie was one of best action hero movies of all time. This movie looked like it had been put together by a committee that couldn’t agree and the ending was cringeworthy after the lack of serious buildup.

  • HRO December 26, 2020 at 3:50 pm

    As a black man, total nerd, instructor of African history, film scholar, child of the 80s, I enjoyed the film for what it was. I found it interesting to see the rare female gaze that the genre gets. Seeing final resolutions that aren’t soley based on punching someone in the nose or blowing something up (fun as those can be) was refreshing. That said, your points on using Africa as the locale as a catalyst were missteps but perhaps no so egregious to ruin a fun bit of popcorn fare. The film, for me, perfectly fits the idea that we can simultaneously critique and enjoy. Sadly, the film highlights how entertainment can provide advances for one maganialzied group while falling short for others, we just need to call these points out and hope for more progress across the board.

  • BingeReviewer December 26, 2020 at 3:59 pm

    The film was bad I’d put behind the original, Shazam, and aquaman. It was still vastly better than the rest of the dceu I hope that if this movies mediocre story was Patty Jenkins fault that they don’t bring her back for the third movie. I will also say while I agree with some of the story issues I think the racial issues the author had with this were over stated and not truly an issue I feel like it was the authors perception that was off based.

  • Don hall December 26, 2020 at 4:18 pm

    As always the people who review movies are stupid and have no clue what we like. Some of the best movies in history tanked in the reviews. It’s entertainment not an academy award movie, which usually suck. You don’t pick it apart you watch it with a bucket of popcorn. This movie is one of the only successful female super hero’s to ever make it. She made it well! Reviewer go watch cartoons, dumb asses!

  • JUSTINE December 26, 2020 at 4:33 pm

    I watched the movie last night with my mother and younger brother…

    We spent much of the movie baffled by the ridiculous plot, cheesiness, and just downright silly use of the lasso of truth – riding lightning? wrapping around a single bullet from a distance?

    – My brother compared the lasso antics to looking like Spider-man
    – My mom got bored pretty quickly and wished we had watched the first film – calling this one a fake Wonder Woman movie
    – I was mostly disappointed by WW’s development. Rehashing her love for Steve Trevor.. she was really letting civilization come closer to an end over him.. not the WW I grew up watching… Or that we ended the first film with…

  • KR Ewing December 26, 2020 at 4:56 pm

    Well, unlike most of the comments here, I respect your opinion. We all have a right to that, so the criticism coming here really is unfounded. In terms of the movie itself, I have to say I did enjoy parts of it. If I had to assign it a number I would say 75%. I thought Chris Pine was wasted. I’ve never been big on reincarnation plotlines. Gadot, though, is outstanding. She brings just enough of Lynda Carter’s Wonder Woman to the character without weighing it down or making it to comparative. Her athleticism is amazing. I thought this was, in part, a good love story. You could feel her actual pain. In terms of the action, it was good but when I was about to jump out of my seat I was held there by poor special effects and inconsistent scene -switching . I was looking very forward to Kristen Wiig and she did not disappoint in the first half of the film. The problem with her character and, to be honest, most comic book villains in films, is that by the time their “transformation” occurs, it’s anti climactic. We’ve never had an opportunity to get to know them. And the more story lines in the film, the less the villain even really matters in the end. Probably why some films have 2 or 3 villains. I had very high hopes for Pedro Pascal, especially after his turn as The Mandalorian. But this was nothing short of disastrous. I thought he was way over the top, even for a Trump-like villain. I was afraid he would be wasted in that’s exactly what happened.. He was literally directly out of a Disney film. The final confrontations with both villains was…..whatever. One of them was filmed with too-dark lighting and filters and the other one wasn’t very realistic. Lord is the same guy who said, upon finding out his son was in lobby, “how many days do I have with him!?!?” As though the kid was a bother. The good news is that this is all correctable. If we were scoring Cana Jenkins and the Wonder Woman franchise are 1-1, with a chance to make improvements before Game 3.

  • Alana December 26, 2020 at 4:59 pm

    You point out some very necessary observations. As a POC I noticed quite a few, but not all, of the missteps you pointed out. I am a huge WW fan. I enjoyed the film but I found it lacking in good story telling. I wish they’d have removed or minimized at least one background plot and gave character development at least 15 more minutes of screen time. They moved too quickly without making you feel for anything other than Steve and Diana’s romance and loss.

  • Ted R Rickabus December 26, 2020 at 5:51 pm

    Absolutely horrible. Terrible cheesy writing with nerf toss plots. No depth, just terrible. The only redeeming quality was Gal Gadot and Chris Pine. But they were slogging through a poorly written, poorly acted (Pedro Pascal and others) mess.

  • BBoy Capone December 26, 2020 at 6:16 pm

    I find it funny you think black people invented break dancing. Check your history.

  • Mic Doc December 26, 2020 at 6:19 pm

    I can understand your critique of the movie. I did watch the movie and I fine with it. But you are right about how they depicted some of the 80. For one, there were no white breakdancers I can remember in 84 or before that. I would know that for certain because we used to travel with the Fresh Fest and there were only Black and Puerto Rican B-Boys. I do wish Cheetah’s character was more in depth with Wonder Woman character.

  • Matt Dock December 26, 2020 at 6:22 pm

    I think she gives the movie almost too much benefit of the doubt. I don’t really understand where this movie went so wrong, when the first one worked against being underfunded and came out so good.

    Any kind of social ready apart, the story was capital T Terrible. It’s convoluted, has more loose ends than a hippy hairdo, and does nothing to further Diana’s character or story.

    The editing does the movie no favors, with flashbacks and exposition coming well after they are needed (why do we find out about Lord’s abusive past in only the final few moments of the movie—AFTER his ‘fall from grace’). Cheetah is unmotivating at best, offensive at worst, especially when it takes 2 hours to discover the stone has taken her “goodness”.

    There’s no purpose to ANY of the settings, physically or temporally, outside of the Smithsonian. The backdrop of the Cold War could have easily been replaced by any other major world conflict and they do nothing but insert oil-over-humanitarianism American tropes by spending 25 minutes in Cairo. It’s old news, lazily Islamaphobic, and a complete waste of script and screen time (Kristen Wigs character is doing the plot driving work of disconcerting the history of the stone back in DC the whole time).

    Why drop lines about “the language of the gods” if there would be no greater tie to the Olympians like the first movie had (this is a huge misstep in setting up a franchising element that could help set the DCEU up against the infinity saga).

    I’m at a loss with this one. Warner Bros and the DCEU are struggling hard to find a way to match Disney-backed Marvel. Without the greater vision of how the DCEU films will dovetail together, I see no reason to keep watching them when I could be rewatching Marvel movies.

  • Christinia Tims December 26, 2020 at 6:40 pm

    This movie clearly, had some problem completing the story and the manner in which it was told. None of the villains are comic book accurate nor is their backstories well written but that’s hollywood for you they had good reason to “hold” this one. Hope WW3 is better written, full fleshed out characters. Please do better Miss Patty Jenkins if you’re going to have your fans wait so long (I know the “waiting” was not your crew nor cast fault), just make the “wait” mean something and the flim be worth the “wait” — this was not — but nice try).

  • Pete December 26, 2020 at 10:36 pm

    I love when critics say these movies are campy or don’t take the serious .. they are comic book characters.. the fans get pissed when movies or tv series go to far from base materials ( which is a comic book ) . And critics want the movie to be serious .. wtf ! It was a good movie a Steve’s return was necessary. It gave Diana a reason to not want to renounce her wish . If he wasn’t in it she wouldn’t of been losing her powers and would if stopped max lord in the first act of the movie .. so I would say he was close to most important part of movie

  • Stella December 26, 2020 at 11:14 pm

    The movie was awesome. Love it. Don’t know why someone will watch it and not love it. Will watch it over and over again. Nice movie

  • Bob polakiewicZ December 26, 2020 at 11:18 pm

    Pretty good movie. Really slow in the middle hour so. Not as good as first one. Worth a watch though

  • Dlb December 27, 2020 at 12:34 am

    I ain’t mad at ya sista make that money at home on your laptop. Thing is in the Sudan, yeah that subject, where is that located. Wait what about Dubai and slave labor there of dark skin people and Asian Indians.

  • Dlb December 27, 2020 at 2:36 am

    I enjoyed the movie as an escape. Not a comic book nerd or collector like my baby brother but do remember that she could fly in the comics. I remember the Bestie Boys in the 80’s they are white. And there is tan skin on black skin racism in the Sudan and in Dubai. So white Western nations haven’t been the only racist offenders in world. Coming from my view as a black American male descendant of slavery. If gonna be a movie critic and PC activist.

  • Johnny December 27, 2020 at 3:27 am

    The movoe was great, judging by your review you didnt even watch it. The stone grants ONE wish and takes something in return not “the users life force”. The stone takes typically something of great value, but Max Lord is able to take whatever he wants from the person making the wish.

  • C. H. December 27, 2020 at 3:40 am

    I see a lot people getting upset due to the “missing plot holes.” This is probably left open for the next movie or to potentially tie in with the DCEU. I liked the movie. I sat back and watched the movie from beginning to end not to nit pick it but just to see if I could follow the movie since I saw a lot of negative reviews on my social. I had no problem understanding the plot. For those wondering about her being seen we saw her trying to cover tracks destroying the mall cameras. As for cheetah and the dreamstone we’ll just have to wait and see what happens in future movies. Y’all act like this was the end all to be all. Last, for those saying, “she revealed herself at the end,” we literally just heard her voice and she wasn’t on camera it was a gold glow. This isnt as bad as the Fantastic 4 reboot. Moving on.

  • Paul Hiouse December 27, 2020 at 3:42 am

    Could have been 1 hour

    But 2.28 omg boring.

    Its not terrible but not very good, why all the PC stuff.

  • Not Happy December 27, 2020 at 8:42 am

    Hope you’re not comparing this movie to “Star Wars” ? Because compared to “Star Wars” this movie is definitely a major bust , as well as a political insult to todays events. I watched it and am a very disappointed Wonder Woman fan.

  • Cleaven Smith December 27, 2020 at 9:07 am

    It should’ve been huge, adapt God and Mortals, I know it was done for DCAU but do it again. She stated in BvsS “I’ve killed things from other worlds before.” Build on that, have her fighting Titans show the strength of Wonder Woman. She’s basically the Deebo of JL, she with the ish. Make it Thor Ragnarok, make it huge. This movie was a disappointment

  • Wonder Woman 1971 December 27, 2020 at 10:36 am

    I loved the movie overall. However, something that I didn’t like was the fact that Jenkins took an archenemy and relegated her to a side story. Max Lord was NOT the reason I was excited to see this movie. I was hyped from the moment they announced the villian was going to be Cheetah. It’s almost like she was forced to make the main evil doer a man YET AGAIN! They had so much more to explore regarding their friendship and how/why Minerva grew to hate Diana. Time that was WASTED on Max. Patty honey sweetie this movie would have blown the doors off Hollywood with the focus on Cheetah and Diana. Max should have been the side piece NOT the other way around.

  • Tony December 27, 2020 at 11:15 am

    I haven’t seen it. But I wasn’t a big fan of the first one because of its lack of diversity. And its quality wasn’t that great either. I just wanted to comment and say you can see who the white folks in the comments are because they are pearl clutching over what seems to be a mediocre movie. And noticing a lack and lazy use of diversity in a film is being liberal or sjw. Especially when the film is basically made by a woman who clearly pushes feminist agendas anyway. Oh, and for the folks telling this black woman that she’s wrong for commenting from her perspective. Why don’t yall have the same energy for the director who basically didn’t allow critics of color to see the inaugural showing for critics. Probably because she saw the final cut and realized herself that it was flimsy from that standpoint. And tbh, as a movie goer in 2020, if I see a film that’s just all white. I ain’t watching. I’ve spent 37 years of tolerance of that stuff. If its done now in a lazy way then its done on purpose. And tbh, coming from. Patty Jenkins who’s movies have little to no diversity at all im not surprised. But I’ll watch it because I’ve already payed for HBO max.

  • JD December 27, 2020 at 11:40 am

    It was an Ok movie.
    But after 50 yrs of reading All comics including Wonder Woman, she NEVER flew. She could jump high but not fly.
    That’s why she had the Invisible Plane…

  • Terry Fortino December 27, 2020 at 12:21 pm

    I read a substantial amount of the viewer statements posted. I see 3 things consistent throughout.
    1) Having to watch a movie or TV show as a word policeman (sorry I know that word offends the oxymoron out there) must be exhausting.
    2) I would surmise a large percentage of the people giving their $.02 worth have never seen the Wonder Woman series because the Wonder Woman 1984 movie was very much in line with the storytelling modes operandi of the series.
    3) During the time of hope and giving, why so much giving of vitriol over another persons opinion opinion of a movie for Christs Sake.
    Try to be nice.
    Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.

  • Thomas McConnell December 27, 2020 at 12:39 pm

    I won’t see it until it comes on a viewing platform I already have. Sorry, I’m not going to sign up for HBOmax just to see it; it maybe free to watch on their trial subscription, but like I said, thanks but no thanks. I hate that with all these movies coming out that they make you try out or buy a subscription that, in the end, will cost more money than what I wanted to pay just to see a film here or there. Uhhh, times are tight and so is money… get the picture? Make distribution wider to be accessible by a wider audience. Hmm, that’s an idea…

  • AOK December 27, 2020 at 12:44 pm

    It’s a movie based on a comic book. You weren’t expecting Shakespeare were you? Spare us it’s the worst movie you’ve ever seen because if it is, you’ve lived a very sheltered life. I do agree not enough character development. Maybe have one villain instead of two. They were trying to say a lot in 2.5 hrs. Watch it, make up your own mind.

  • Rick December 27, 2020 at 12:56 pm

    I hope everyone stayed thru the credits to see one of the most exciting parts! I hope that was a tease to the third Wonder Woman!

  • Lin Devine December 27, 2020 at 1:31 pm

    I was also put off by the oh we are in a jet and btw it is the forth of July.

  • Eugene D Reynolds December 27, 2020 at 1:39 pm

    I agree with the article 100 % I was excited for weeks at the thought of its release. And really thought it would be the one movie that would put Marvel on notice that DC is in the building. And after watching it I was not pleased. I felt like they didn’t tell enough of story of the Villains and at times the plot just didn’t make sense its like they were all over the place.. So while people want to trash the writer of this blog I thought the review was spot on.

  • Tanis December 27, 2020 at 2:26 pm

    Good Lord!

    Some people can’t simply sit down and watch a piece of entertainment these days! Does everything have to have some grand meaning? I’m surprised you enjoyed the movie at all… You were definitely waaaaaayyyy too focused and, quite clearly, intent on squeezing every second for enlightenment!

    Wonder Woman is a COMIC. The mere fact the writer/director shoe horned in a bit of “today’s experience” for a bit of overall lesson is commendable. The parallel between Lord and that loser Trump unmistakeable… However, that’s where it ended, for my (mixed) family. Shame I have to mention that.

    People, 2020 is bad enough without someone “moderately” crapping on a pretty good movie! If you want racially deep then rent Fruitvale Station. If you want a good ENTERTAINING movie then WW1984 is a great choice.

  • J December 27, 2020 at 3:43 pm

    The movie was awesome, shut up with the race comments. You want to make things racist, fine. But it’s going to further the divide between white and black and not do anything for “the cause.” Gal is from Israel, not white, she is middle eastern.

  • Darkness December 27, 2020 at 3:57 pm

    Well this is what you get from a slighted black writer. You could tell she wasn’t happy about the diversity and she based her whole opinion on it. Well this movie was awesome. I’m really getting tired of this black lives better thing going on.

  • michael gilles December 27, 2020 at 3:58 pm

    I enjoyed the movie. Kristen Wiig was miscast in my opinion. Gal Gadot really is Wonder Woman. It was better than the first movie. Bring on the next villian.

  • Jimmy Zee December 27, 2020 at 4:02 pm

    This movie sucked period. If you really liked this than I feel sorry for you. You have no idea what good story telling his. Go watch some marvel movies if your still clueless.

  • Sam December 27, 2020 at 4:08 pm

    Yeah, I agree with this assessment overall. Not great but not terrible. It felt like there were great elements and aspects that just never fit together completely.

    I think it was the obviousness of the plot. Soon as you saw Steve come back you know he’s gotta go away due to the plot device so you never get invested in him like in the first one.

    That break dance group felt weird and then you pointing out they were all white is what made me realize that was the weird part. Thank you.

  • Rone December 27, 2020 at 4:26 pm

    This movie fell way below expectations! I would give it a 6.5 at best! I wouldn’t argue if someone gave it a 6. For the first movie to be so good, idk how they got this movie so wrong. It literally took forever for the movie to get started and The fight scene at the end was bad. DC need better writers for their movies. Their animated cartoons are better!

  • Jamall December 27, 2020 at 10:57 pm

    C+ at best.
    The visual effects looked clandestine for a movie with a budget of its’ size.
    Gadot looked beautiful and fully embodies the essence of Wonder Woman.
    I’m old enough to remember Lynda Carter’s Wonder Woman and it feels like Gadot is the right person to take the mantel. Nice nod to Carter in the movie by the way.
    I am happy to have something new from the Super Hero genre though, so even though “C’s” are acceptable for my kid’s grades, I will take it from the movie.

    • Jamall December 27, 2020 at 10:58 pm

      Correction: *C’s are NOT acceptable for my kid’s grades,

  • MeC2021 December 28, 2020 at 12:34 am

    It was Wonder Crap 2020 I saw it twice and on the second run it was still crap. I guess we will see how it does in WW3 if there will be one. Hope not with this writing crew who flew over the cukos nest. And oh, I see quite clearly and comprehend just as well, and it was crap Max Lord 80’s themed nonsense. Still love Gal just gave her a really pathetic story to tell and act out.

  • christie December 28, 2020 at 12:31 pm

    Was sort of waiting for the second installment of Gal Gadot as the woman of wonder and was expecting something of the first film’s caliber. From the opening olympic competition scene of her as a child besting the adults to the mall robbery nonsense, I could feel my expectations leaving my body, being replaced with a meh feeling. The power of the God rock should have at least been more detrimental to renounce than just saying the “words” and you are back to normal. Something on the level of getting out of a timeshare, blood in blood out. Film had the Raiders of the Lost Ark camp feel to it, terrible idea which just didn’t work for me. I don’t know the ending because I just stopped watching the film, I lost all interest after the cat girl ripped up Wonder Woman’s wings. Need the God stone to wish I hadn’t wasted my time.

  • jimmy zee December 30, 2020 at 12:57 pm

    Movie sucked period. I you thought this was good at all then you have no business watching or going to the movies.

  • r December 30, 2020 at 6:18 pm

    I was so disappointed by this movie. Storytelling and filmmaking have matured since the 1980s. Today’s good movies are so much more subtle, intelligent, and engaging. Pop in old TV shows with their obvious jokes and stupid laugh-tracks, and it’s hard to watch them. I get what Jenkins was going for, but WW84 could have stuck with 80s fashion and history nostalgia, while leaving behind the clumsy jokes and over-the-top storyline.

  • Vicky December 31, 2020 at 2:26 pm

    I was ok with this movie until the ending. The final “confrontation” between Lord and Diana was so lame in my opinion.Spoiler alerts in my next two complaints: Wouldn’t all of the other wishes been taken back as soon as Lord renounced his wish? While it was cool to see Linda Carter at the end, that also made no sense. Asteria sacrifices herself to save the Amazons and then chooses to never return to them and instead protect the humans that enslaved her people and tried to kill her? Communists and Arab oil tycoons were the main enemies of the United States in the 1980s so I thought it was appropriate to to have both of these issues referenced but that was one horrible looking Reagan. I think the movie did capture the loneliness and sacrifices that superheroes have to make and it was funny to see Steve Trevor react to the 1980s but overall, this movie was disappointing. It wasn’t horrific like Batman vs. Superman but it wasn’t good either.

  • Melissa January 3, 2021 at 11:49 pm

    Painful to watch!! Characters not consistent with first movie, cliches everywhere, dumbed down script, waaaay too long. Disappointment. I’m certain the actors are exceedingly embarassed to have to live with what this film became.

  • Leave a Reply

    Hi! I'm Karama! I'm a Brooklyn blerd, journalist and content creator fueled by coffee and comics. Anime is my orientation. Currently on one too many podcasts. Read More

    Podcasts

    Support theblerdgurl

    theblerdgurl.theblerdgurl, koficom (1)

    theblerdgurl TV

    ×